I’m a student again

Hola! Como estas? and a couple other SMALL phrases and words are about as far as I get. BUT, today I begin classes to learn the language. Today is the first step in being able to communicate 🙂 I am definitely a little nervous because my teacher does not speak any English, but it will make me learn (hopefully) very quickly.
I met my host family I am staying with during my time at language school. Doña Rude (pronounced: Rootheh). She is a sweet older lady who was very excited to have someone else in the house with her. Last night we managed small talk with me apologizing numerous time for mi malo Español. She told me I needed to learn quickly so we could talk and I agreed. She is so sweet and very patient with me and my blank stares following her questions. I am so thankful for her and her willingness to open her home me!
I’m going to back up to yesterday a little bit because it was such a strange but very good day. The Rose’s and I left San Pedro Sula for Siguatepeque yesterday morning. The 2 and a half hour drive went by quickly, as I got caught up in all the scenery along the way. I have seen it before, but it still seems to be more beautiful each time. I fell in love with this country again, and not only because it is beautiful. I love the simple way of life, the people, and the culture.
On the drive I went through a range of emotions and I think that is why it was so weird yesterday. I was excited to be going to language school, but also feeling like I was jumping in without having a clue what I was doing. I didn’t have a plan or any idea how it was all going to work out, I was just going. And the strangest part was that I was OKAY with it. For those of you who don’t know, I ALWAYS like to have a plan. I like to know what is going on, what to expect, how to prepare, etc. I LIKE TO PLAN! But in this situation, that was not the case. For “some reason” I was completely content to just enjoy the journey.
I had and still have the peace that Paul talks about in Philippians 4:6-7 – “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”
It’s amazing what God does when we can place everything, all our worries, fears, concerns, everything into His hands. And I’m not saying I’m good at this all the time; believe me I’m not. That is why it was very strange for me. But God is so faithful and even though there is a lot of things I don’t know and even more things that I don’t know how they will all work out, I have peace. Not from anything I did, but all because God promises to go before me and behind me, in whatever I do.
So, off to school I go. God is faithful!

4 thoughts on “I’m a student again

Leave a Reply

