A “boring” testimony

This past week at Bible study, I was asked to share my testimony. I like sharing my testimony, but I am always a little worried that I won’t say everything that I want to. I want my testimony to be a story that points all to Jesus and so I get nervous that everything won’t come out the way I want it to. And so after finishing my story, I, being the perfectionist that I am, began analyzing everything I said:  

Did I say everything I wanted to? Did I talk bout all the events that led up to me accepting Christ? I rushed through that one part. I didn’t talk enough about that part. Was I saying I too much instead of Jesus? Etc., etc., etc. 

And then…..then I fight back the thought that ALWAYS ALWAYS comes: I just have such a boring testimony. I grew up in the church, asked Jesus into my heart when I was 5, and was baptized when I was 7. Plain and simple. Now, I know that is NOT true, but it doesn’t stop that lie from slipping into my mind. I have even taught a lesson about what a testimony is in a campus ministry meeting a few years ago, but still, the thought comes.

I again reflected on what a testimony exactly entails. The word testimony is defined in a couple of ways: “an open acknowledgement,” “a public profession of a religious experience,” “an outward sign.” It’s plenty more than a simple religious experience, and John points us to exactly what it is, what our testimony as Christians should be:

“Whoever believes in the Son of God has the testimony in himself……And this is the testimony, that God gave us eternal life, and this life is in his Son.” 1 John 5:10a, 11

In Ephesians 2, Paul lays it out quite nicely:

“And you were dead in the trespasses and sins in which you once walked, following the course of this world……But God, being rich in mercy, because of His great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ….for by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God.”

So our testimony is that God saved us from all our sins and trespasses, by giving us His Son and in doing so, eternal life. It was His great love for us, His mercy, His grace, His forgiveness, His working in us, Him changing our life. NO testimony is EVER boring because our testimony has everything to do with Christ and not us. No matter what “level” [for lack of better word] of brokenness we come from, Christ overcomes it when we ask. Any time Christ comes and changes a life it’s a big deal. Heaven sure thinks it is:

“Just so, I tell you, there is joy before the angels of God over one sinner who repents.” Luke 15:10

Whether he saves you in a dramatic way or in a simple way, a sinner has still been saved through Christ. And that’s the point. Not us, not an amazing story. Only Christ and what He did in us.

So, don’t be afraid to share your testimony, as I often need to remind myself, no matter how “boring”, or “bad” you may think it is. God changed your life either way, so that you can use it to tell others of His amazing love and glory. And that is what we are supposed to do. God wants us to use the testimony He has given us by changing our lives all for His glory, honor, and praise.

“Then my tongue shall tell of your righteousness and of your praise all the day long.” Psalm 35:28

“I have told the glad news of deliverance in the great congregation; behold, I have not restrained my lips, as you know, O Lord. I have not hidden your deliverance within my heart; I have spoken of your faithfulness and your salvation; I have not concealed your steadfast love and your faithfulness from the great congregation.” Psalm 40:9-10

Have a blessed week!

3 thoughts on “A “boring” testimony

  1. Debbie Harrington

    I don’t know where, well yes I do, but you amaze me with your deep insight and ability to put things back into God’s perspective and help us get our eyes of ourselves. Also! Your testimony is your LIFE and how you are choosing to follow Jesus. To God Be the Glory! Love ya lots and very proud of you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

