Going-ons from the past couple of weeks…

I apologize for not posting very much the last couple of weeks. I have kept pretty busy with school and studying. I’ll just give you a quick overview of the past 2 weeks.
Yesterday marked 6 weeks of me being in Honduras! In some ways it has not seemed like that long at all, and in others it has definitely felt like a long time.
Last week on Friday, we took a fi20150828_114700eld trip to the city of La Esperanza for the Festival of the Potato, though we didn’t actually eat any potatoes. We did however get to take a tour of the city and learn about the ancestors of the city,a people group called the “Lencas”. They are the indigenous people who lived there before the Spaniards came to colonize the country. This culture is still very prevalent even today. It was very interesting to hear the history behind this beautiful city! The picture below was taken on our way up the mountain to La Esperanza, looking down into the valley. So gorgeous! We were above the clouds 🙂

20150828_084732(2)

On Monday this past week, I switched teachers and now have a woman named Reina. She has taught school for many years and even has a degree in Spanish as a Second Language. She explains things very well and always finds something to make us laugh about. On the subject of Spanish class….It has been pretty good. This week I learned how to describe and discuss the weather as well as how to buy items at the store or market.

I made ham & cream cheese pickles wraps for Bible study this week because the theme was a dish that started with the same letter of your last name. While making them, Doña Rude was curious as to what exactly I was concocting. I gave her one and she loved it! She told me she had never had anything like it before (at least that’s what I comprehended from her Spanish). Whenever I make these, I am always reminded of high school volleyball trips when our coach or someone on the team would make these for us. Best things ever!

20150822_14555120150904_122436

Here is a picture of what the front of the house where I’m staying looks like. They have many plants in different stages of growth all around the house. It is beautiful!

 

 

 

There are some random tidbits of what I’ve been up to the past couple of weeks. 🙂 Have a fabulous week!

“How abundant are the good things
that you have stored up for those who fear you,
that you bestow in the sight of all,
on those who take refuge in you.”

Psalm 31:19

Leave a Reply

