School – An act of worship?

“Whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through Him to God the Father.” Colossians 3:17 NASB

The past couple of weeks God has been convicting me about my attitude towards language school. I had been getting frustrated with the pace of my learning as well as feeling like all I was doing was going to school, not having any other purpose. I was feeling discontented and then frustrated because I knew I shouldn’t be feeling like that.

Even though my feelings were such, I still knew that my whole purpose is to worship and glorify God. I just couldn’t figure out how I could do that with such a routine thing as Spanish class. How do I worship God by going to Spanish class? After all, it’s “just” class, right?

I went to Colossians 3 and read over verse 17. Do all in the name of the Lord Jesus…How do you “do all in the name of Lord Jesus?” What does that look like practically? I looked at other versions of this verse and found this one:

“And whatever you do or say, do it as a representative of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through him to God the Father.” NLT

When I read that, it became clearer as to how I could glorify God through Spanish class. Wherever I go, being a representative of Christ is a way to glorify and worship Him. For me, the part of being a representative meant I needed to surrender was my attitude. I needed a new perspective on learning Spanish. I needed to look at my time in class, all those Spanish verbs and vocabulary words as an avenue for worship. And these are the practical ways I came up with:

  1. Thank and praise God for the opportunity to learn. This one really got me because I was taking this class for granted. If I didn’t have this class, I would not be able to communicate with anyone, especially the girls we will come in contact with. Psalm 71:8
  2. Simply talk to God about class and ask for everything to make sense. God cares about every aspect of our lives, even little things like verbos de Español. Philippians 4:6
  3. Surrender my inadequacies so He can be shown through me. Yes, even in learning Spanish (or learning anything, for that matter). 2 Corinthians 12:9-10
  4. Pray for my teachers, as they do their best to explain all the objectives. Colossians 1:9-11
  5. Find joy in the small victories. For instance, I spoke Spanish with my teacher for all 4 hours of my class period one day last week. 1 Thessalonians 5:16

Have I got this down to a T and completely changed my attitude towards Spanish class? I wish, but….but I am in the process of it. And like mostly everything, it’s a daily surrender. A surrender of attitude and will so that I can be the best representative of Christ possible.

Leave a Reply

