Surprise, surprise

Much time has passed and many things have happened since my last post of my cake fiasco, all of which are good.

I was able to travel to the States for Christmas. It was not originally planned, but partly due to some issues with my visa I was able to make the trip. The best part about it was surprising my family! Only my sister, McKayla, and a few friends knew. I had never pulled off something like that before so it was pretty fun, especially watching their faces when they first saw me. I flew in to South Dakota late at night, stayed at my sister’s house, then we left at 5 that next morning to drive to Montana to catch my family before they left to go to Laura’s basketball tournament. We almost missed them, but thankfully I got see them for a little bit before they got on the road. Their faces were priceless! I am so thankful God worked it out so that I could go.

20151220_121052.jpg
Family picture at church

It was wonderful to spend time with friends and family, even though I think I was frozen the whole time I was there. I had become accustomed  to the weather here in Siguatepeque and so temperatures below zero hit me kind of hard. However, that didn’t stop me from going outside and having a little fun 🙂

Or going out with Dad to feed a couple of the mornings.

20151224_095332.jpg

It was so so good to be able to spend a lot of time with my sisters. For the record, I have the best sisters  in the world! We always have so much fun together, whether we are jammin’ out in the car, playing music, making cookies, or just simply hanging out and talking about life.

And as always, time with friends is sweet! As schedules permitted I was able to catch up with a number of friends. (But did I remember to take pictures of everyone? no)

My time back in Montana was definitely great, but a little strange at the same time. I don’t really know how to explain it other than my heart knew it was just a visit and was perfectly at peace with that fact. So, while I cherished my time there, I was ready to return to Honduras to continue learning Spanish and getting closer to better communication with the girls with whom I will be working and living alongside.

God bless!

2 thoughts on “Surprise, surprise

Leave a Reply

