And Then Everything Falls into Place

I’ve found that in most things, the beginning is always a little uncertain, a little vague. But then, a moment of clarity comes and everything falls right into place. God is always working, whether we can see it or not.

This past Monday, I was able to visit my first girls home! Compelled by Christ has a family style girls home in the town of Choloma, right outside of San Pedro Sula. They take in girls from bigger orphanages and from the streets, and they then become part of the family. There are 3 separate houses, each with a house mom, all of whom are Honduran. The North American woman and her husband who started this home, were in Honduras for only a short window of time and I was able to meet with her within that window. God is good!

Compelled by Christ girls home in Choloma, a town right outside of San Pedro Sula

She briefly showed me one of the homes but then had another meeting to go to. I continued into the other homes and introduced myself to the girls that were there and all the house moms. I told them I really wanted to come back on a regular basis but that I need to clear that with the director. They were more than welcoming and said they looked forward to seeing me around.

Still waiting for her to return, I wandered around the houses and found two girls making tortillas in the yard. I asked if I could help, and that turned into an hour of rolling and cooking tortillas, and lots of giggles, mostly about my inability to roll the perfect amount of dough for the tortilla press. (No, we did not make them all by hand. First of all, I can’t, plain and simple. Second, when you have 100 tortillas to make, a tortilla press is definitely the way to go!).

We had just finished when the director returned and said, “We’d love to have you back. You can come whenever you want.”

Hmmmm 🙂 And that’s when you wonder why you were ever worried in the first place. Well that’s when I wonder. God has this way of opening doors at just the right time. He always proves Himself faithful. And then everything falls into place. The very place God has already prepared.

So, starting next week, we will be visiting this home and getting to know these sweet girls!

“Faithful is He who calls you, and He also will bring it to pass.” 1 Thessalonians 5:24

Leave a Reply

