One Year in Honduras!

One year.

It’s hard to believe it has already been that long. It has gone by so fast and in looking back over the past 12 months, I have been amazed and humbled time and time again by the perfection of God’s timing, His always present faithfulness, and the amazing love He has for His children. I’m so grateful for the opportunity to be here and I can’t wait to see what God will do in the upcoming year.

Reflecting back on the past year, I sat down and made a list of what God had done, how He had provided and things He taught me (or still is teaching me). I want to share a few of them with you:

  • How God has provided
    • The opportunity to learn the language for 9 months (THANK YOU to those of you who God used to make this possible!)
    • A wonderful Honduran family to live with for 6 months
    • Great roommates in my last months in Siguatepeque
    • Having the Rose’s welcome me into their family during our time at language school
    • Encouraging friends met through church and school to share life with
    • The opportunity to surprise my family for Christmas (through a mess-up with my visa, “…God causes all things to work together for good to those who love him…” (Roman 8:28), even seemingly mess-up situations)
    • A car, something I wasn’t planning on getting while in Honduras, but now it is a necessity. (He knew what was coming later on, like always)
    • The opportunity to volunteer in a clinic/hospital in Siguatepeque
    • An apartment to live in San Pedro
    • A wonderful friend and helper in ministry, Lesbi
  • God-is-awesome moments:
    • Reconnected me with Karla (read previous blog post about this: Karla)
    • Opened the door for me to meet with Karla weekly and get to know her during my time at language school
    • Opened doors to childrens’ homes around San Pedro where Lesbi and I could start discipleship classes
  • What He’s taught/still teaching me
    • He is ALWAYS, ALWAYS, ALWAYS faithful. When I can’t see, when everything is vague and uncertain, and even when I don’t feel it; still He’s faithful
    • His timing is perfect and I can and need to trust in that
    • Patience, always patience 🙂
    • What it means to have courage
    • The beauty of enjoying each day as an opportunity
    • The power of simply enjoying His presence, without an agenda
    • He is a good, good Father, who loves His children with a never-ending, relentless love

These lists could go on and on. In the middle of things it can be hard to know what God is doing, but in retrospect we can usually see the purpose and plan clearly. He is always good, he is always faithful. Celebrate with me!

“I will bless the Lord at all times; his praise shall continually be in my mouth. My soul makes its boast in the Lord; let the humble hear and be glad. Oh magnify the Lord with me, and let us exalt his name together!”  Psalm 34:1-3

What has God done in your life in the past week, month, year?

Leave a Reply

