Of Course {Por Supuesto}

A few short weeks ago, we were just setting up a schedule and preparing for our first discipleship classes. And now we are a month into some of them, a few weeks into others and God keeps bringing more opportunities.

Our first class of girls in Casa Hogar de La Luz

Our first class of girls was at a girl’s home called Casa Hogar de La Luz. We started off informally, getting to know each other with fun activities, times of prayer and sharing the gospel. In the next weeks, we began our first study on different characteristics of God.

I taught the first lesson in this study and I was more than nervous. I would be teaching it all in Spanish and having to explain different characteristics of God. I was worried that I wouldn’t get the meaning across the way I wanted and that the girls would be confused.

That afternoon before we left for the home, I received a text message from one of my friends that simply said, “I’m praying for you!” That calmed me a little, and then when we arrived, I felt more of my anxiety melt away. I knew deep down everything was going to work out, that God could speak through me.

And He did. The reason I know is because I don’t remember a single thing I said. Nothing. I could tell you what I have written down in my notebook, but to remember the words that came out of my mouth, I don’t recall a single thing.

I didn’t realize this until after the class when Lesbi told me that she thought it went really well and that the girls seemed to really get it. I was surprised and then in thinking about it, I really didn’t remember what I had said. God was the one who spoke; I was just the nervous girl in front of a group of eager faces.

Immediately these verses began to flood my mind:

“So shall my word be that goes out from my mouth;
    it shall not return to me empty,
but it shall accomplish that which I purpose,
    and shall succeed in the thing for which I sent it.”                                                                     Isaiah 55:11

“The Holy Spirit will give you the words to say at the moment when you need them.”            Luke 12:12

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”                                    2 Corinthians 12:9

“Fear not, for I am with you;  be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you,  I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”                                                        Isaiah 41:10

“For the eyes of the LORD run to and fro throughout the whole earth, to show Himself strong on behalf of those whose heart is loyal to Him.”                                                                                    2 Chronicles 16:9

Of course (por supuesto), right?

Of course God would do that.

Of course, He would speak.

Of course, He would open their minds and hearts to receive His truth.

Of course, I didn’t have anything to worry about.

Of course, I didn’t need to rely on myself.

Of course, God doesn’t need a big show of words, a production, an outlined lesson.

Of course, God only needs a willing and obedient instrument.

And of course, He will work.

As always, God is faithful. He has opened doors and keeps bringing opportunities for Lesbi and I to be a part of. I’m excited to see how he continues to work. Because, of course, He always does.

One thought on “Of Course {Por Supuesto}

Leave a Reply

